January 9, 2014 smallstone: They Say It’s Your Birthday

Standard

Joan_Baez_Hamburg_1973_2811730005

Prompt: They say it’s your birthday. Write a birthday poem as if it is or write a poem in honor of someone who celebrates a birthday today, January 9. This poem celebrates Joan Baez, born this day in 1941.

Your voice, those songs

Who gave me the albums?
I played them until their vinyl was scratched and worn,
staccato pops punctuating soprano vocals.
My adolescent soprano mimicking yours,
singing, swaying, even sobbing once
in a while.

Plane Wreck at Los Gatos
There but for Fortune
All My Trials

Tales spinning as each record spun –
Worlds imagined, yet unimaginable.

What I didn’t know then of trials
I would learn – someday soon.

Leave a Reply

