January 20, 2015 smallstone “Recurrence”

Standard

test taking

Today’s prompt: Write a poem about a recurring dream. Have the first word and the last word of each line begin with the same letter.

Walking to class, I’m well on my way,
Mathematics – nothing daunts me more
’til I recognize that the test
I’ve been dreading is imminent.

Could it be that this math class,
a class I’ve scarcely attended
and intended to drop for ages,
continues and now commands
my presence momentarily?

Hysteria turns to horror
because I’ve not opened a book,
nor taken a single class note.
Whatever will happen when…
Oh. I wake up before I find out.

Leave a Reply

