Lady Reading

Standard

 

reading

 

I can’t vote.
I’m not permitted to
work outside my home
(or inside, for that matter.)
But I can read! I can
make up my own mind.
And I can still speak,
maybe even advocate
in my quiet “ladylike”
way. Clever observations
over strident opinions from
a spectacled subversive.
 
 

This poem was written in response to Margo Roby’s 12/1 image prompt a painting of a French woman reading Le Figaro. In doing a bit of research for this poem, I found out that France did not extend suffrage to women until 1944!

2 thoughts on “Lady Reading

Leave a Reply

